Tenderpaw No More

March 30, 2011 Mandy the Dog Update: I wag my tail in gratitude to the Boulder City Council for rejecting the recommendation to close this loop trail to dogs. As reported in The Daily Camera:

“The Boulder City Council voted unanimously Wednesday night to continue to allow dogs on the Tenderfoot Chapman Loop Trail and the Saddle Rock Trail despite a recommendation from a community advisory group to ban dogs in those areas.”

________________________________________________________________________

“The best thing about man is the dog.” –Pierre-Laurent Buirette de Belloy

Howdy Folks, this is Mountain Mandy and I am a Boulder dog. I borrowed my guardian’s blog to report on the loss of one of my favorite Boulder Trails, The 2.5 mile/4023m Tenderfoot (a.k.a. Tenderpaw) Loop Trail. A pack of Boulder volunteer humans called the Community Collaborative Group (CCG) are about to recommend that this and other Boulder trails become off-limits to my dog buddies and I. This is not for conservation reasons. While I’m no naturalist, the flora and fauna seem perfectly happy with us pooches. The draft plan also includes a recommendation to acquire private property that will allow mountain bikes on a part of this loop called Chapman Drive. Hey, I’m a golden retriever, I love mountain bikers too! The reason I am to become a canine non-gratis is so that some trails can provide “No Dog Opportunities” for humans. So how come bikes are ok but dogs aren’t?.  Even here in Boulder some people just don’t like to share the trails with us lovable dogs. Go figure.

I took my guardian to enjoy the Tenderpaw/Chapman Loop on this beautiful day for what the for what may be our last time. Please join me but let’s hurry before it’s too late

Let’s Go!

Drive up Flagstaff Road to Realization Point

Have Your Guardian Park Here

Head this way (if you live outside of Boulder have your guardian fetch the $5 parking fee)…

The Tenderpaw/Chapman Loop Starts Near this Sign

Follow the Tenderfoot (sic) sign…

Take the Lower Trail

The trail starts on a forest path…

Singletrack In the Forest

and soon opens to sweeping views of the snow-capped Continental Divide in the Indian Peaks Wilderness Area

Nice Views of The Continental Divide

I Will Miss this Place

Great Sticks Too!

These guys look happy…

Happy Dogs and Humans Can Co-Exist

Pretty soon the trail drops down to Chapman Drive…

Take a Left at The Sign

A Short Trot Down to Chapman Drive

and make another left at the next sign…

Follow the Loop Left Up Chapman Drive

Where the 500ft/152m ascent back to Flagstaff Road begins with a series of spectacular switchbacks…

Chapman Drive Switchbacks

Another Spectacular View from Chapman Drive

Soon we approach the stone bridge built by The Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930’s

Stone Bridge

A View From The Bridge

We continue up into a dense pine forest with lot’s of shade and snow…

Dashing Through Snowy Woods

Here’s a Great Place to Chill Out

Snowy Chapman Drive

There is a lot to explore under the snow in the subnivian

Exploring the Subnivian

Too soon we are back to Flagstaff Road…

On Leash Back to Flagstaff Road

I will miss the Tenderfoot when it’s kaput!

Do you have comments about Boulder’s West TSA Trail Study? You can send them via a public comment form.

8 Responses to “Tenderpaw No More”

  1. jane larson Says:

    Thanks, Mandy! Your description of the trail in words and pictures is a convincing testimony of the ability of dogs and humans to coexist on our local trails.

  2. KyraLars Says:

    One of the few nice loop trails for dogs. We will miss this trail too. If only I could talk to people and explain how much I love nature!

    We could help thos Boulder people relax and enjoy the great outdoors.

  3. julie mccabe Says:

    Thank you. I’ve written pages (critics say ‘ad nauseum’) about the loss of places like Tenderfoot/Chapman loop to the dog community. Your tour says what I failed to convey. Taking things like this away from one group will affect everyone. The people that sign on to the CCG just don’t appreciate this – yet. I hope everyone sees your work. We all need to appreciate what is being taken away. Then maybe “Why?” will become important enough that this craziness will stop. JMc

    • richwolf Says:

      Thanks Julie. I am trying to get the word out and I’m surprised how many folks still don’t know about what’s happening with CCG et.al. Mandy took me to Saddlerock this morning and we met many guardians who knew nothing about the loss of this trail. There were lots of kids and V&S dogs and all were happy to co-exist. Many were from surrounding towns and didn’t have any information about the recommendations. Won’t they be surprised? Maybe a warning should be sent to all Green Tag holders!

      • julie mccabe Says:

        There is a FIDOS meeting tomorrow night 2/1/11. The old board supported the CCG consensus. A new board, (tomorrow) may not. Supposedly FIDOS sent an email blast to its members but there is no way to tell who has answered back. The emails go to the old board president. In case this sounds confusing – it has become politicized within the FIDOS organization. Anyone is invited to this meeting as FIDOS is thought of by many as representing the dog/guardian community. Absent FIDOS, BoulderSODA (something like Save OS Dog Ass) has tried to form around the CCG. Boulder SODA was active for the COOT Lake issue. Let me know if you want more info. People are trying to continue the 2/1/11 meeting b/c of the weather, but I’ve not heard yes. jmcc526@gmail.com

  4. jim illg Says:

    So well written and such beautiful pictures of your dog. Each one made me smile as I thought of the good times my dog and I have on WTSA trails.

    I’ve made a similar informal survey of dog walkers and the vast majority of people, whatever the trail, have no idea of what’s brewing. I really feel like an opportunity is lost by not walking WTSA trails, especially in the Chautauqua area, and handing out a simple one page flyer on the topic. I’m not much of an organizer but I would be happy to contribute both time and money to such an effort. People need to know what’s afoot.

  5. Eva Malanowski Says:

    Thanks for sharing this. It is so sad. My family has hiked this trail in Boulder for over 30 years! With all of our dogs. It is really a great dog trail and needs to remain open to dogs!

  6. Super Cool Cloud Trapped In Boulder Forest « Tales from the Trails Says:

    […] the clouds finally departed Mandy and I left for an early post-drizzle walk on the Tenderfoot Loop Trail. We were hoping to see the first snow of the season on the Continental […]

Leave a Reply

