Winter Break

Thanks to the jet stream we have been given a respite from winter. Today was 62 degrees (F) with blue skies and wispy clouds…a perfect day for a Boulder hike. I did one of my favorite loops starting at the lower part of the Shanahan Ridge. I traveled south to the Big Bluestem and then west to the Mesa trail. I then took Mesa north to the South Shanahan and east back to the start. The total loop is about 4 miles and it includes prairie (Lower Bluestem), canyon (Upper Bluestem) and forest (Mesa & Shanahan). It also affords some spectacular views of the front range from Devel’s Thumb to the area behind NCAR.

Here’s one I took with my phone camera from the Upper Bluestem…

upper-bluestem-in-winter

…and another with my real camera (Canon EOS 30D) at the end of my hike right near the trail head at about 1:45pm…

shanahan-winter-vista-8x25-shadowed

The weather forecast promises even warmer days this week so celebrate winter break in the Rockies!

Leave a Reply

